Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Southern Connecticut State University

is one of four state universities in Connecticut, and is located within the West Rock neighborhood of latest Haven, Connecticut. Founded in 1893, it is the third-oldest campus within the Connecticut State University System.

SCSU's sister schools in the system square measure Central Connecticut and Western Connecticut State University. The state universities are ruled by the Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education.On September eleven, 1893, three lecturers and eighty four students met at the recent Skinner college in New Haven to make a biennial teacher coaching college, New Haven State junior college. By 1937, Southern had grown into a four-year faculty with the power to grant bachelor's degrees.

Ten years later, Southern teamed up with Yale University's Department of Education to offer a master of science degree.  renowned as metropolis State lecturers Collegeto assume complete responsibility for this graduate program.

In 1959, six years after the establishment had rapt to its gift location  offerings to embrace discipline programs resulting in bachelor's degrees within the arts and sciences. At the same time, New Haven State junior college became Southern Connecticut State College.

For the next 24 years, Southern grew, modernized, and diversified, expanding its undergrad and graduate programs and gap up entirely new fields of study and analysis. But March 1983 brought even larger changes: Southern Connecticut State faculty was rechristened Southern Connecticut State University, and made half of the Connecticut State University  in New Britain, Eastern Connecticut State University in  Danbury.[4]

No comments:

Post a Comment